Let’s Review: Carly Keene Aidan

Firemen…yum! On the list of sexy jobs, firefighters are right at the top, along with police officers and Navy SEALs. A few years ago I took my own field trip to the firehouse to interview the firemen there for a book I was writing, and let me just say that I was not disappointed with the view. H.O.T. Consequently, I am definitely partial to novels where sexy firemen are the heroes and Aidan by Carly Keene is one such novel.

In this sweet insta-love story, Romy is a kindergarten teacher on a field trip to the fire station with her class. When the fire captain comes out to speak to the students, Romy is glad she’s in the fire station, because her panties are burning, he is that hot!

“If the man-in-charge attitude had my lady parts weeping in gratitude, the good-with-kids attitude has my lady parts begging for mercy.”

When the captain shows up at her school carrying the scarf she’d been wearing in the fire house and asks her out to dinner, it seems too good to be true. And since he starts ignoring her calls afterward, maybe it is…

As a fire captain for the local fire station, Aidan is use to giving a spiel to visiting classes. He even likes to do it, since sharing about his job could inspire the kids to become firefighters as adults. When a kindergarten class comes in, Aidan is ready to do his thing, but he’s brought up short by their curvy, gorgeous, teacher.

“This is a woman, with curves that are just begging to be touched.”

After going out with her, he feels an instant connection, but when the old, grouchy, office lady at the school implies that Aidan is only one of many men in Romy’s life, he puts on the brakes, wondering if the connection he felt was all in his head.

As opposed to the last Carly Keene book I read, I loved this one! There were no strange bombs dropped and the problem was very clear. This book, like the last, is an insta-love that moves pretty fast on the happily-ever-after front. Romy is a convincing kindergarten teacher and the problem of disapproval from her co-workers is totally believable. Aidan is also an awesome take charge guy with some hints at alpha tendencies. He is very matter-of-fact about his job and at one point mentions the types of calls he goes on, which lines up with the research I did when I was writing my own hot firefighter book 🙂 The story flips back and forth between points of view and each perspective has a very clear voice for that character that makes you feel like you’re in their head.

I really enjoyed this book, so I will definitely give Carly Keene another chance and read more by her. Aidan is the first book in the Rivertown Fire and Rescue series and I am looking forward to reading the others. Aidan is available on Amazon and on Kindle Unlimited, so check him out!

Well done, Carly Keene! Well done!

Leave a comment